Misconceptions About Blind People (Questions Never to Ask A Blind Person)

Hey guys. I know it’s been a long time sense I’ve actually posted anything so I wanted to take my free time to get something out there. I wanted to take the time to address some of the weirdest things I get asked and some of the crazy myths or misconceptions people come up with. Fellow blind people reading this, feel free to leave a comment if I missed anything.
1. A blind person’s eyes aren’t normal looking.
Come on guys. Really? A blind person can definitely have normal eyes. The eye can be defective but not look it. There are certain conditions that affect the look of the eye, but not all conditions do. Conditions that could would be glaucoma, cataracts, and more. There are some conditions that may not affect the appearance of the eye, but the focus or action. The eye may not be able to focus on a certain point, or dart uncontrollably. This is called nystagmus. (I happen to have this along with my blindness.) It can be corrected, but I feel the need to go through with it.
2. Blind people always ware dark sunglasses.
This one should be a definite NO for people. Your disability shouldn’t tell you what you ware. A blind person shouldn’t always have to be spotted by what they ware. That’s ridiculous. A blind person may follow this myth but not every blind person will. A blind person may also ware dark sunglasses because they’re not completely blind, and they’re light sensitive, or hate the sun in their eyes just like a sighted person.
3. A blind person is always completely blind.
Blindness is a scale. A person may be concentered “blind” but not be completely without sight. They might have very little sight, light perception, lack of depth perception, have enough to get around and read, it’s hard to tell.
4. If you can’t see, you probably can’t hear.
I know this one from personal experience. I was walking with my Caine in Walmart, and someone comes up behind me shouting, “DO YOU NEED ANYTHING !?” It was really annoying, and I really wanted to go off on the dude. I was trying to be as polite as I can, and replied, “Umm… Sir… I’m vision impaired, not hearing impaired, and I’m fine… thanks.” Some people believe the opposite. People believe that a blind person’s hearing, sense of smell, and taste are heightened to account for the lack of sight, but I don’t think that’s the case, however, it is a possibility.
5. A blind person can’t wipe. (How do you wipe?)
…Really?… Who looks at their business when they wipe it. You people are gross sometimes. If any of you ever find me in public… never ever ask me that question… please I beg of you.

Thanks for sticking with me and reading my rants. I tried to add some humor to some of them so people weren’t listening or reading a bunch of boring trash lol. I hope everyone enjoyed it. See you next Friday with another post. For sure this tome. I know. I’ve been busy. I’m sorry.

Leave a comment